Happy Chinese New Year

Happy New Year, Chinese people! Welcome to the year of the Rabbit.

This past Christmas, I celebrated “Christmas for the Jews” (as SNL named it) with the traditional chinese-food-and-a-movie. I asked our waiter at Yangtze when the Chinese New Year fell this coming year, and he said “February”. I looked it up, and today’s the specific day. He made a point to mention the rabbit. I wondered what Chinese symbol I was.

Naturally, being curious, I looked it up. Most Chinese Zodiac calendars are expressed as wheels, with the 12 symbols each occupying one section of the wheel and a list of years in each section. I notice that I was born in the year of the Horse. Oh yeah. I know I’ve seen that before. However, my waiter’s specific mention of February make me wonder on what day in that year the year of the Horse actually began.  

It turns out I’ve been living a lie. I am not actually a horse. I apologize to those I mislead. I am actually a snake. Specifically, a fire snake. Here’s a description of people born in fire snake years:

“Fire Snakes can be a bit loud, speaking their minds and smothering you with their opinions. This does add a twist to his dynamic and vibrant character, as he is quite the extrovert. These Snakes have a great wisdom. They are intriguing communicators who leave you breathless after a conversation. Fire Snakes can change even the most obstinate mind with their powers of persuasion, convincing you their opinions or ideas are better than yours. This does make them a little self-centered, but you can’t say they aren’t driven for success.”

Sounds a bit like me? Yup, quite. Maybe the Chinese are onto something. Then again, if they were, about half of my classmates would be exactly like me. And they’re not.

Regardless, I am going to enjoy my double-champagne birthday knowing that 1.4 Billion native Chinese people (and likely many other Chinese around the world) are celebrating today too.

Leave a Reply

